Giant Ground Sloth

Giant Ground Sloth, Megatherium americanum, a visitor’s perspective

©University Museum of Zoology, Cambridge

©University Museum of Zoology, Cambridge

Rhys Price, visitor to the Museum of zoology, writes:

I am  HUGE “fan” of zoology and palaeontology, and have been since I was very young. At the moment I am particularly interested in the extinct megafauna of South America, 1 million years ago, especially the Giant Ground Sloth, Megatherium.

To put it briefly, to have seen a specimen of this fascinating animal was unforgettable, as well as a Smilodon (sabre-toothed cat) skull, some Glyptodon (giant armadillo) bones and a Toxodon skull.

These are just a few of many collections in the museum that have inspired me to study zoology, and palaeontology, as a hobby, and possibly a career later on.

One thought on “Giant Ground Sloth

  1. I’m impressed, I must say. Rarely do I encounter a
    blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and
    without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head. The issue is something that too few folks are speaking intelligently about.

    I am very happy that I stumbled across this during my hunt for something regarding
    this.

Leave a Reply

